

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: October 17, 2024

Contact: The Mississippi Egg Marketing Board

121 North Jefferson Street, Jackson, MS 39201

Phone: 601.359.1144 Fax: 601.359.1175

Mississippi Egg Marketing Board, Mississippi Poultry Association and Mississippi Beef Council Announce the Winners of the 2024 Mississippi State Fair Omelet Cookoff Winners Named from Forrest, Yalobusha and Itawamba County

JACKSON, Miss. – The Mississippi Egg Marketing Board (MEMB), Mississippi Poultry Association and Mississippi Beef Council are pleased to announce the winners of the 2024 Mississippi State Fair Omelet Cookoff. This annual event was held during Mississippi 4-H Day at the State Fair and featured 16 contestants from various 4-H chapters around the state.

Placing first was Belle and Tanner Davis, members of the Forrest County 4-H, preparing a "Cheddar, Bacon, Steak Omelet." Placing second with a "Cheesy Chicken Chili Omelet" was Emaline Swindoll, a member of the Yalobusha County 4-H. In third place was Ellie Haffey, a member of the Itawamba County 4-H, preparing a "Take Me to Flavortown Omelet." Haffey also took the prize for best beef omelet.

The contestants placing first, second and third were awarded cash prizes by the Mississippi Poultry Association in amounts of \$75, \$50 and \$25 respectively, and the Best Beef omelet was awarded a \$25 cash prize. In addition, all contestants received an omelet toolkit that included an apron, omelet pan, whisk and spatula.

Participants entered prior to the competition and were selected by their district to compete at the state level. Participants presented their entry to a panel of judges within 60 minutes. Also competing from Itawamba County 4-H were Charlotte Haffey, with her "Charlotte's Fresh Farmhouse Omelet" and Penelope Haffey with an "Extra Mile Omelet." Representing Covington County 4-H were Oakleigh McCray with a "Farm Fresh Omelet;" Rowdy McCray with a "Kickin' Philly Omelet;" Henry Klein with "Henry's Tornado Omelet;" and Jordyn Grantham with "Jo's Sweet Heat Omelet." Zakiyah Gillum and Kinleigh McMullan, with the Smith County 4-H, prepared an "Agriculture Omelet." Representing Jasper County 4-H with a "Taco Omelet" was Lucy Holloway; and Hannah Lance, representing Washington County 4-H, prepared a "California Sushi Roll Omelet." Contestants were provided the necessary ingredients to prepare their omelets but brought unusual or unique ingredients from home.

Mistress of Ceremonies and MEMB President Ryn Laster said, "It's always fun to watch these youth and the enthusiasm they have when cooking, especially with eggs. They each have their own unique style, and I'm amazed at the creativity that goes into the omelets that they prepare." Also serving as judges for this year's cookoff were Dr. Angus Catchot, Director of Extension at Mississippi State University (MSU); Angela Evans, Anchor and Host for WLBT; Dr. Trent Irby, Associate Director of Extension at Mississippi State University; and Mack Walker, Complex Manager for Tyson Foods.

Also on hand for the competition were John Clayton Kitchens, current State 4-H President from Collinsville, and State President of the Mississippi FFA Organization Laynie Dodson from Nettleton. Kitchens is a high school senior and dually enrolled at Meridian Community College. Dodson is a freshman at MSU, majoring in agriculture education. Both Kitchens and Dodson are members of the Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce's 2024-2025 Mississippi Agriculture Youth Council.

Visit <u>www.MSEggMarketing.com</u> for great tasting egg dishes brought to you by the Incredible Egg. For more information about the Mississippi Egg Marketing Board, contact Jennifer Thompson at <u>msegg@mdac.ms.gov</u>.

###

Photo attached.



The Mississippi Egg Marketing Board, Mississippi Poultry Association and Mississippi Beef Council are pleased to announce the winners of the 2024 Mississippi State Fair Omelet Cookoff. Pictured (L-R): Tannah Christensen with the Mississippi State University Poultry Science Department; 2nd Place Winner Emaline Swindoll of Yalobusha County; 1st Place Winners Tanner Davis and Belle Davis of Forrest County; 3rd Place Winner and Best Beef Omelet Winner Ellie Haffey of Itawamba County; and Mississippi Egg Marketing Board President, Dr. Ryn Laster.