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STATE OF MISSISSIPPI 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND COMMERCE 
ANDY GIPSON

COMMISSIONER 

Mississippi law requires that any petroleum equipment repairman obtain a license from the Commissioner 

before performing work on any petroleum pump or metering device.  Specifically, Section 75-55-38 of the 

Mississippi Petroleum Products Inspection Law states:    

(1)Any person who repairs, adjusts or removes an official seal from a petroleum pump or metering device

shall, before engaging in such activity, obtain a license from the commissioner upon showing that he is

qualified to repair, adjust and test petroleum pumps and/or metering devices.  Application for a petroleum

equipment repairman's license shall be made annually on forms prescribed and furnished by the commissioner.

A fee of Fifty Dollars ($50.00) shall be paid by the applicant at the time application for such license is made.

All licenses issued hereunder shall expire on the thirtieth day of June next after its issuance.  Any person so

licensed shall, within three (3) days after he repairs or adjusts a petroleum pump, metering or measuring device

or removes an official seal therefrom, make a report thereof to the commissioner on a form provided for such

purpose by the Department of Agriculture and Commerce.

(2)Upon receipt of a license, the petroleum equipment repairman shall acquire a seal press, one (1) die of

which shall be inscribed with his license number.  All official pump or meter seals removed by the licensed

petroleum equipment repairman shall be replaced and such replaced seals shall clearly show the license

number of the petroleum equipment repairman replacing the seal(s).

(3)The commissioner shall have authority to prescribe and adopt regulations establishing additional

requirements and/or qualifications for petroleum equipment repairmen.

(4)Any person, company or corporation who violates or causes to be violated any provision of this section or

any rule or regulation adopted hereunder shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be

punished by a fine not less than Three Hundred Dollars ($300.00) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars

($500.00), or by imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, or by both fine and imprisonment;  upon a

second or subsequent conviction thereof, violators shall be punished by a fine of not less than Five Hundred

Dollars ($500.00) nor more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), or by imprisonment for not more than one

(1) year, or by both fine and imprisonment.  In addition to fines and/or imprisonment as provided herein, the 
commissioner may, in his discretion, suspend or revoke the license of such petroleum equipment repairman. 
Provided, however, that the commissioner shall afford a licensee an opportunity for a hearing, prior to 
suspension or revocation of a license, to show cause why his license should not be suspended or revoked.

As part of the licensing procedure, a Certificate of Calibration must be submitted with the application.  The 
laboratory conducting the certification, must be traceable to the National Institute of Standards and Technology 
(NIST).  The Mississippi Department of Agriculture, State Metrology Laboratory is located at 1000 ASU 
Drive, Bldg #10, Lorman, MS 39096-7500.  Appointments should be scheduled by calling 601.877.3802.

Fees are as follows:   

0-5 gallon - $40.00;   

>5 gallons - $40.00 plus $0.75/gallon for each additional gallon over five.

http://www.mdac.ms.gov/


MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
AND COMMERCE 
POST OFFICE BOX 1609 

JACKSON, MISSISSIPPI 39215-1609 
Telephone 601.359.1101   Fax 601.359.1175

ANDY GIPSON, COMMISSIONER

License No. Issued: 

APPLICATION FOR PETROLEUM EQUIPMENT REPAIRMANS LICENSE 

I hereby make application for a license as a Petroleum Equipment Repairman in the State of Mississippi in 
accordance with the Petroleum Products Inspection Law of the State of Mississippi and regulations adopted 
thereunder. 

Name of Applicant 

Company Represented 

Company Mailing Address 

City State Zip Code 

Telephone Number   Fax Number Cell Phone Number 

Company e-mail address 

Size (gal) calibrated test measure(s) or Provers Serial Number(s) No Calibrations  (Mark X if applicable) 

1. I have had   years experience in the service, installation, repair and maintenance of petroleum
devices and affirm that I understand and will comply with the applicable sections of the Petroleum
Products Inspection Law (Miss. Code Annotated §75-55-1 to -41), and MDAC Petroleum Regulations
(Subpart 04, Chapter 8), and to the General and Liquid Measuring Device Code Sections of the
currently adopted edition of NIST (formerly NBS) Handbook 44.

2. If licensed, I will test each retail pump, meter or other liquid measuring device, which I install, repair, or
adjust, with a 5 gallon test measure which has been sealed by the State of Mississippi or a lab formally
accredited or recognized by NIST. Certificate must be current to be considered for the upcoming
licensing period.

<OR> 

If licensed, I will test each wholesale and/or high flow meter with a prover that has been sealed by the 
State of Mississippi or a lab formally accredited or recognized by NIST lab within the past two (2) 
years preceding this registration period.  

3. I will make all adjustments to as near zero error in accuracy as possible.
4. I will seal all adjustments with a wire seal stamped with my License # on one side.
5. I will notify the Department of the fact that I have placed in service, repaired or adjusted a pump, meter,

or other liquid measuring device, giving the name of owner, location, and date service rendered, and
my license number, and mail or fax this notice within 3 days repair or adjustment is made.  (Service
Report Forms available www.mdac.ms.gov )

6. I fully understand that my license is subject to revocation due to misrepresentation of fact,
incompetency, or failure to render satisfactory service on my part and will surrender same to the
Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce immediately upon cancelation of license.

 ______________________________________  
 Applicant’s Signature     Date 

Enclose with this application: 
□ $50.00 Check or money order payable to the Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce.
□ Calibration Certificate on test measure or prover (must be current)

Petroleum Equipment Repairman Application  Revised: October 2017 

Test measure or prover certification must be attached before this application can be processed. 

http://www.mdac.ms.gov/


SRForm 10/2017

MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND COMMERCE 
Bureau of Regulatory Services 

Petroleum Products Inspection Division 

P. O. Box 1609   Jackson, MS 39215-1609   Phone: 601-359-1101 

SERVICE REPORT FORM 

RETAIL MOTOR FUEL DISPENSER 

This is to certify that I have on this day repaired and or placed in service the following described device and it now complies 

with the Laws of the State of Mississippi  

Date   

Location of Device (Business ID/Store name) 

Street Address  

City State Zip County 

(All below information located on ID plate on device per Handbook 44 1.10 G-S.1. and 3.30. S.4.4.) 

Device Capacity 
GPM (Gallons/Min) 

Make of Device 
(Brand Name) 

Model # 
Pump # 
(i.e. 1/2) 

Serial # 
Certificate of 

Conformance # 

STATUS OF RETAIL MOTOR FUEL DEVICE PRIOR TO SERVICE 

Were the above described devices rejected?  Yes  Date of rejection    No 

Were the above described devices a new installation?  Yes  Date of install      No 

Name of Service Repair Company Represented:   

Address City State Zip 

Repairman Name: Repairman License No.: 

Note: Mail to above address or fax to 601-359-1175 within 3 days after repair or email pp@mdac.ms.gov 

mailto:pp@mdac.ms.gov
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