General Instructions for Registration and Renewal of
Pesticide Products in Mississippi
A copy of the law, regulations, and forms regarding pesticide registration may be found on the Mississippi

Department of Agriculture and Commerce (MDAC) website at https://www.mdac.ms.gov/bureaus-
departments/plant-industry/pesticide-program/

New Company Information: Any out of state new registrant must complete a Power of Attorney (POA) form.
The resident agent may be either the Secretary of State (SOS) or any Mississippi resident agent who agrees to
serve. The appointment will remain in force indefinitely, unless revoked. A firm whose name appears on the
pesticide label as a distributor, or a manufacturer must appoint a legal processing agent unless that firmis a
division/subsidiary of another parent organization. Therefore, a certified copy of the POA form verifying the parent
firm’s appointment of a legal agent must be provided to the BPI from the SOS. POA forms must be completed,
notarized, and sent to the Business Services Division, Secretary of State, P. O. Box 136, Jackson, MS 39205. The
Secretary of State charges a $37.00 filing fee. Send the check or money order to the Secretary of State. The POA
form must be duplicated front and back for notarization. A company is not active and cannot have active
product(s) in Mississippi without this form.

If you are a Mississippi resident, a Power of Attorney is not required. However, you must provide a notarized
statement indicating your Mississippi residence address. If your address changes, you are required to provide BPI
with a notarized statement indicating your new Mississippi address.

Mississippi Pesticide Products Online System: Mississippi has an online system that companies can access
24/7 to register, renew, upload revised labels, or add new products. Once the BPI has received a certified copy of
a company’s POA from the SOS, an agent can register as the person responsible for ensuring the company’s
product registrations and labels are current. The agent can then register the company from the agent’s home page
and begin registering products. Please contact BPI if you need assistance.

New Product Registration: The registration fee for a pesticide or pesticide product is $200.00 per brand or
grade. Once an agent and a company have been registered and have an active status in the online system, the
agent can begin loading new products, labels, and complete payment. An agent will need the product information
and a current label to register the product. Once the agent has logged into the online system, new products can
be added by selecting the blue link “Register a New Product” under the task bar on the right-hand side of the
company’s home page. A new screen will appear and allow you to enter the product information, active
ingredients, percentage, and load the label. Three payment options will appear: “Save & Complete Registration”,
“Save and Register Another Product” or “Save and Pay Later”. Repeat this process for each new product.

Rebate Instructions: Rebates apply only to products produced in Mississippi.

Products produced and labeled in a Mississippi establishment are eligible for a $100 rebate. When entering the
product information online please select either “yes” or “no” on the product information page under the question
“Claim rebate for Mississippi-manufactured product?”. The system will only charge the registrant $100 for that
pesticide or pesticide product.

Additional Brands: A fee is not required to register additional brands in Mississippi if they meet the following:
(1) The EPA registration numbers must be the same for the first two sets, only the third set (distributor numbers)
can be different.

(2) The ingredient statements must be the same.
(3) All use directions must be the same.

(4) Only pesticides registered with EPA by the same manufacturer shall be considered additional brands.


https://www.mdac.ms.gov/bureaus-departments/plant-industry/pesticide-program/
https://www.mdac.ms.gov/bureaus-departments/plant-industry/pesticide-program/
https://www.mdac.ms.gov/bureaus-departments/plant-industry/pesticide-program/
https://www.mdac.ms.gov/wp-content/uploads/bpi_pesticide_powerofattorney.pdf
https://www.mdac.ms.gov/wp-content/uploads/bpi_pesticide_powerofattorney.pdf
https://agnet.mdac.ms.gov/pestreg/account/login
https://agnet.mdac.ms.gov/pestreg/account/login
https://agnet.mdac.ms.gov/pestreg/contact
https://agnet.mdac.ms.gov/pestreg/contact

Products produced for distributors and/or another company must provide the name and address of the company
on the label. It must appropriately state on the label, “sold by”, “distributed by”, “manufactured for”, or “packaged
for.” The online system will recognize additional brands and calculate your total amount owed accordingly.

EPA Exempt Products: Mississippi regulations require registration of FIFRA Section 25(b) products. If they are
deemed a pesticide as defined in the law and/or regulations, they must meet all labeling and other requirements
as specified.

Adjuvants: Special requirements exist for the registration of adjuvants. Labels must include active ingredients
and percentages for each. When entering the active ingredient name for adjuvants/surfactants into the online
system, select the word “Adjuvant” and a total percentage amount of active ingredients. You will not enter the
actual chemical name for adjuvants/surfactants.

Renewals: Product registrations shall expire on December 315 of each year and must be renewed to remain
active in the State of Mississippi. Any unregistered product found being sold in Mississippi will have an immediate
Stop Sale issued by the BPIl. Renewals for active products can be completed using the online system. A blue
“Renew Product” button will appear on the company home page during renewal period providing guidance to
agents renewing products. At this time, products will either be renewed as active, placed or remain in
discontinuance, or cancelled by the agent. During renewals, if there is no label change, then no new label is
required. Only labels with revisions must be loaded before completing the renewal process.

Label Updates: Revised labels must be loaded into the online system for approval. We encourage label updates
to be submitted throughout the calendar year and not just during renewals. This allows us to better assist
registrants in a timely manner.

Discontinuance of Pesticide Product Registration: Registration of discontinued products must be done as
follows: If a pesticide or pesticide product is no longer produced, the registrant shall continue to register the
pesticide or pesticide product for no less than one additional year. The registrant may register a pesticide or
pesticide product as discontinued for longer than one year to ensure that all supplies have cleared the channels of
trade.

We hope these general guidelines will be beneficial to you as you start the process. If you have any questions or
need assistance, please feel free to contact bpionline@mdac.ms.gov or (662) 325-8147. Thank you for using our
Mississippi Pesticide Products Online System and for the interest in registering products in the State of
Mississippi.
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