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EQUAL OPPORTUNITY IN EMPLOYMENT AND SERVICES 
 

 

 
APPLICATION TO ENGAGE IN THE  

SALE OR PURCHASE OF LIVESTOCK BY WEIGHT 
 

Section §75-27-201, states in part, “No person, firm or corporation covered by the 
provisions of shall engage in the sale or purchase of livestock, by weight, without first 
having secured a permit, issued by the commissioner of agriculture and commerce, for a 
fee not to exceed one hundred fifty dollars ($ 150.00), provided, however, in operating a 
packing house, only one (1) permit shall be required for any firm, corporation or other 
such place of business, though a number of persons may be employed in the packing 
house, whose duties may include or be limited to the weighing of cattle, except that each 
separate location where any livestock is purchased or processed shall be considered to be 
a separate business.” 
 
Please complete the enclosed application in its entirety and return it along with the 
required fee of $50.00, made payable to the Mississippi Department of Agriculture and 
Commerce, Weights and Measures Division, P. O. Box 1609, Jackson, MS 39215-1609.  
Incomplete applications will not be processed until all required documents have been 
received.   
 
Completed application must be accompanied by:   
□  License Fee of $50.00 
□  Current copy of Packers and Stockyards Administration Bond, Current surety bonds, 
Letters of credit or trust fund agreements or bond continuation certificate 
□ A check or money order should be made payable to the Mississippi Department of 
Agriculture and Commerce/Weights and Measures Division. 
 
Upon receipt of your completed application, and enclosed documents your permit to 
engage in the Sale or Purchase of Livestock by Weight will be issued.  If you should have 
any questions, please contact our office at 601-359-1149 or email wm@mdac.ms.gov. 
 
Sincerely, 

 
Brent Bowman, Director 
Weights and Measures Division 
 
BB/al 
Enclosure 

mailto:wm@mdac.ms.gov


 
MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND COMMERCE 

ANDY GIPSON, COMMISSIONER 
Weights and Measures Division 

P. O. Box 1609 ∙ JACKSON, MS 39215-1609  

Phone: 601-359-1149        Fax: 601-359-1175    Email:  wm@mdac.ms.gov 

       
         License No.     ______________ 

 

APPLICATION TO ENGAGE IN THE 
 SALE OR PURCHASE OF LIVESTOCK BY WEIGHT 

 
As required by Section 75-27-209(1) Mississippi Code of 1972, the undersigned hereby, makes application 

to the Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce for a permit to engage in the sale or purchase of 

Livestock 
Business Name (PLEASE PRINT) 

 
Physical Address (No P. O. Box) 

 

City 

 

State       

 

Zip Code 

 

County 

 

Telephone Number 

 

Fax Number 

 

Email Address 

 

Mailing Address (License will be mailed to this address) 

 

City 

 

State 

 

Zip Code 

 

Telephone Number 

 

Is livestock facility registered with Packers and Stockyards Or Are you a livestock dealer registered with Packers and Stockyards? 

Registered P & S Livestock Facility                                            Registered P & S Dealer                                     

Livestock Auctioneer Auctioneer License No. Alternate Livestock Auctioneer  Auctioneer License No. 

 

Section 75-27-209(1) Mississippi Code of 1972 requires your business to be bonded, therefore; please 

attach a copy of your current surety bonds, letters of credit or trust fund agreements or bond continuation 

certificate. 

 

This the ___________________ day of ____________________________, 20 _______________. 

 

____________________________________ ___________________________________  

            Signature of Applicant                              Title 
Note: In order to process your application, every item on this checklist must be included and completed. Failure to 

comply with all requirements listed below could result in a delay of your license. 

 

Checklist of items to enclose with this application:    □  License Fee of $50.00 

□  Current copy of Packer’s and Stockyard Administration Bond , current surety bonds, letters of credit or trust fund 

agreements or bond continuation certificate 

mailto:wm@mdac.ms.gov
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