

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND COMMERCE

ANDY GIPSON COMMISSIONER

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: February 12, 2024

Contact: Paige Manning, Director of Marketing and Public Relations

(601) 359-1163 / cell: (662) 312-5897

Paige@mdac.ms.gov

Hannah East, Marketing Specialist

(601) 359-1179

HannahE@mdac.ms.gov

Miss Hospitality Abney Grace Pittman Presents 2024 Dixie National Parade Awards Awards Given to Participants from Covington, Hinds, Madison, Neshoba, Rankin & Smith Counties

JACKSON, Miss. – Mississippi's Miss Hospitality Abney Grace Pittman presented the 2024 Dixie National Parade awards to winning participants following the parade on Saturday, February 10, inside the Mississippi Farmers Market. The procession included an array of rodeo and other title queens, marching bands, floats, car and tractor clubs, riding groups, the famous Dixie National Wagon Train and more.

Every year, first and second place winners are chosen within each category of parade participants including best motorized club, marching group, float and riding group, as well as first, second and third place winners from the Dixie National Wagon Train. In addition, an overall best group was chosen from over 45 parade entries for the coveted Commissioner's Award.

A panel of local celebrity and distinguished judges determined this year's winners including Maggie Wade, WLBT News Anchor; Ty Franklin, Mississippi 4-H President; Ashton Luke, Mississippi FFA President; and Lisa Moore, Boswell Media Marketing Specialist and former Miss Dixie National Rodeo.

For best motorized club, the Mississippi Army National Guard Recruiting and Retention Battalion was awarded first place, and the 1941 Mississippi Misfits Jeep Club of Rankin County took home second place. In marching groups, the Jim Hill High School Marching Band, located in Hinds County, earned first place and the Tishomingo Avengers of Rankin County took home second place. For best decorative floats, the Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce's (MDAC) Genuine MS® Program, based out of Hinds County, received first place and the Mystic Wind Choctaw Dancers of Neshoba County received second place. In best riding clubs, Deviney Equipment and Massey Cattle Company of Hinds County were awarded first place, and the Chula Homa Hounds of Madison County took home second.

Eight individual wagon trains from around the state of Mississippi make up the famous Dixie National Wagon Train. This year, Mississippi's Miss Hospitality Abney Grace Pittman awarded third place to the

North Wagon Train, second place went to the Smith County Wagon Train, and the Mt. Olive Wagon Train took home first place. In addition, one group in particular stood out within the procession and was determined to be the best overall participant by the parade judges. This year, the Mt. Olive Wagon Train was also awarded the 2024 Commissioner's Award.

For more information and a full event schedule on the 59th Dixie National Livestock Show and Rodeo, visit www.dixienational.org, download the mobile app and follow the Dixie National Livestock Show & Rodeo on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

###

Photos attached.



Mississippi Agriculture and Commerce Commissioner Andy Gipson, along with wife, Leslie, led out the annual Dixie National Parade on Saturday, February 10th, in downtown Jackson. The 2024 Dixie National Parade included an array of rodeo and other title queens, marching groups, floats, car and tractor clubs, riding groups and the Dixie National Wagon Train.



Following the parade, Miss Hospitality Abney Grace Pittman presented the 1st Place Award in Best Motorized Clubs to the Mississippi Army National Guard Recruiting and Retention Battalion.

(pictured here)



Following the parade, Miss Hospitality Abney Grace Pittman presented the 2nd Place Award in Best Motorized Clubs to the 1941 Mississippi Misfits Jeep Club of Rankin County. (pictured here)



Following the parade, Miss Hospitality Abney Grace Pittman presented the 1st Place Award in Best Marching Group to the Jim Hill High School Marching Band of Hinds County. (pictured here)



Following the parade, Miss Hospitality Abney Grace Pittman presented the 2nd Place Award in Best Marching Group to the Tishomingo Avengers of Rankin County. (pictured here)



Following the parade, Miss Hospitality Abney Grace Pittman presented the 1st Place Award in Best Float to MDAC's Genuine MS® Program, based out of Hinds County. (pictured here)



Following the parade, Miss Hospitality Abney Grace Pittman presented the 2nd Place Award in Best Float to the Mystic Wind Choctaw Dancers of Neshoba County. (pictured here)



Following the parade, Miss Hospitality Abney Grace Pittman presented the 1st Place Award in Best Riding Clubs to Deviney Equipment & Massey Cattle Co., located in Hinds County. (pictured here)



Following the parade, Miss Hospitality Abney Grace Pittman presented the 2nd Place Award in Best Riding Clubs to the Chula Homa Hounds of Madison County. (pictured here)



Following the parade, Miss Hospitality Abney Grace Pittman presented the third place award in Best Wagon Trains to the North Wagon Train, based out of Neshoba County, second place to the Smith County Wagon Train, and first place to the Mt. Olive Wagon Train of Covington County.



Following the parade, Mississippi's Miss Hospitality Abney Grace Pittman presented the Commissioner's Award to the Mt. Olive Wagon Train of Covington County as best overall group.